The National Institute of Physics (NIP) was established by President Ferdinand E. Marcos via the issuance of Executive Order 889 in 1983. NIP evolved from the Department of Physics of the reorganized College of Arts and Sciences, UP Diliman, Quezon City. The NIP started operation as an institute on 26 May 1983 immediately after the approval of Board of Regents (BOR) of the University of the Philippines (UP). NIP was envisioned to be a national center of excellence for the acquisition, dissemination and application of knowledge in physics. In 1997, the NIP was accredited by the Commission on Higher Education as a Center of Excellence in physics in recognition of its status as the premier institute for tertiary and postgraduate physics education in the Philippines. [1]

[1] excerpts from the NIP Annual Report 2000.

Reorganization of the then College of Arts and Sciences into three colleges (362nd UP BOR Meeting).
Executive Order 889
BOR Decision 1983
NIP Organization 1983